#ARCTIC. #SIBERIA. THIS IS TAIMYR. The first buildings – barracks, a dining room, a house for civilians and a house for guards, technological premises and, of course, towers and a watch – were erected by convict builders where geologists worked.
But when in the mid-1940s the first coal adits were laid at the deposit, it turned out that from them to the village – about three kilometers. Then they decided to move housing closer to coal mining.
This is how the Old Kayerkan and the current Kayerkan appeared. Miners and drillers lived in the main settlement, and workers of the geological party, which continued to explore coal, lived in the old one.
Old Kayerkan remained residential until the late 1950s, when the geological party was relocated to the area of the Harayelah ridge. And with the opening of the coal mine, the village found itself in a zone of expansion during industrial explosions. In September 1959, the rest of its population was moved to the main village.
In the History Spot’s previous publication, we told that horse-drawn transport was used in Norilsk until the 1970s: the Norilsk combine was built by people along with horses, which were involved in all types of work.
Follow us on Telegram, VKontakte.
Text: Svetlana Ferapontova, Photo: Nornickel Polar Branch archive